Internet Security Blog - Hackology
Google Plus Shutdown

Google+ Shutdown dates Announced – Download Your Data



[Update 20 Mar 2019] Google is sending out email, as a reminder, to Google+ users to download the their content before Google+ shutdowns. The email state the following:

You’ve received this email because you have content in Google+ for your personal (consumer) account or a Google+ page you manage.
This is a reminder that on April 2, 2019 we’re shutting down consumer Google+ and will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.
Downloading your Google+ content may take time, so get started before March 31, 2019.
No other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube) will be shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown, and the Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain. Note that photos and videos already backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
For more information, see the full Google+ shutdown FAQ.
From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place.

You may know Wall Street Journal shared Google+ vulnerability and its effects which existed for 3 years before it was finally revealed. After this news broke out, out of embarrassment Google announced that Google Plus will be shutdown by April, 2019.

Today, Google announced that Google would pull the plug on your Google Plus account and it’s pages on 2nd April, 2019.

Google will also start deleting all your content including pages, photos, videos and everything on Google+. You can always download your data if you desire, but do it before 2nd April 2019 as stated by Google:

Starting April 2, 2019, we will shut down your Google+ account and any pages you created, and we’ll begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. If you have Google+ content that you would like to save, you must do so before April 2nd

If you have a company Google Plus account (Enterprise) it will be still usable in future, only normal / consumer user accounts as well as Google+ API will be down. Although Some APIs will be down on 7th Marc, 2019.

Google+ APIs will be shut down on March 7, 2019. This includes Google+ Sign-in and OAuth token requests with Google+ scopes. Google+ integrations for web and mobile apps will also cease to function March 7, 2019. This will be a progressive shutdown, with intermittent failures starting as early as January 28, 2019.

How to Download Google Plus Data

Before the shut down you can download / export G+ data. Here is how to do it.

  • Sign In to Your Google Plus Account.
  • Go to Download your data page.

    Download Google Plus Data
    Google Plus data will already be selected when you click the above link
  • Click Next.
  • Choose a file type, which can be either zip or tgz.
  • Select maximum size of your archive file, files will be split if size exceeds from what you have selected.
  • Choose how you want your data delivered, it can be either be uploaded on the cloud  or made available for you to download by an Email.

    Google Plus Archive Download Options
    Select various options on how you want to download your Google Plus Data
  • Click Create archive.
  • Google will start the archiving process and you will be notified by email when the procedure is done and you can obtain your Google+ Data.

    Archiving Progress as Google Plus Data is backed up

To download Google Plus pages data, you need to sign in as Google+ page. You can also download specific data such as your photos, posts, events and etc. instead of downloading all your data as per your need.

How To Download Specific Data

  • Go to Download your Data page.
  • Click on Create New Archive.
  • Click specific data shown under “Select Data to Include”.
  • Toggle the specific data you want to download.

    Download Specific Google Data
    Select required Google data to download
  • Click Next.
  • Choose a file type.
  • Choose how you want your data delivered.
  • Click Create archive.

How To Download Deleted Google Plus Account Data

If you have already deleted your Google Plus account, you can still download your data using the above method as your data is archived. But after 2nd April, 2019, all your data will be deleted.

Google Plus Archive Page

All available archives you create for your data will be present at the Download Your Data:Downloads , you can visit this link and see if your archive is ready for download or even create new ones if you desire. When your archive is ready, you will get the following email:

Google plus archived ready

Note: Downloading your Google Plus data does not delete your Google Plus profile. Photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.

This race of Google in Social Media Industry with Facebook, Twitter and others have finally come to an end here. A fellow writer predicted what is happening now 8 years ago in a two liner blog post.

Google+ Team Email all Consumer Account Users

Google has just sent out emails today (1 Feb 2019) to all Google+ consumer (free) users with a detailed explanation as what is going to happen , although we have covered how you can backup your data in detail , I will share the email below aswell.

From : [email protected]
Subject : Your personal Google+ account is going away on April 2, 2019

You’ve received this email because you have a consumer (personal) Google+ account or you manage a Google+ page.

In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations. We want to thank you for being part of Google+ and provide next steps, including how to download your photos and other content.

On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.

The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.

As early as February 4th, you will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events.

See the full FAQ for more details and updates leading up to the shutdown.

If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.

If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons.

If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019.

If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon.

If you’re a developer using Google+ APIs or Google+ Sign-in, click here to see how this will impact you.

From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication.

You have received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Google+ Page, product or account.

 

 

 

What do you think about shutting down of Google Plus? let us know in the comment below.

 

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Get Wise

Subscribe to my newsletter to get latest InfoSec / Hacking News (1 Email/week)
Brave Browser Message

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This